Midweek tigers

We are entering that part of the year which I dislike. The temperature drops and, to quote a common expression, “the evenings are drawing in”. In other words, darkness falls earlier and earlier, increasing feelings of discomfort.

Tigger is on the early shift today and this provides me with an incentive to meet her from work and perhaps go for coffee together.

Aboard the 153
Aboard the 153

As I usually do, I caught a number 153 bus in St John Street, intending to change to a 100 at All Hallows Church.

UK Bus Checker
UK Bus Checker

We both have this bus app on our phones to tell us when the bus we want will arrive at the stop. It’s not perfect (nothing is) and sometimes crashes but it’s right most of the time, assuming, that is, that the traffic is running normally. Guess what?

Congestion in London Wall
Congestion in London Wall

As the 153 neared All Hallows, it started to run slowly. Creeping along, we eventually turned the corner and reached the church where I change. There were road works (the usual thing: the road half blocked causing traffic chaos but nobody actually working. Need I say how frustrating this oft-repeated scenario is?) reducing the road to a single lane. The app told me my bus would arrive in 7 minutes but that, of course, was not true. I waited and waited as the traffic progressed past me at a snail’s pace. Fortunately, I had allowed plenty of time for my journey. (If you live in London, you do so by reflex.)

Aboard the 100
Aboard the 100

The bus arrived at last and, once past the obstacle, resumed its normal speed.

When Tigger joined me, we set off to look for coffee. Tigger had a place in mind and we hurried through the busy streets – to add to our pleasure, it had begun spitting with rain. Then, turning up a passageway, we encountered… tigers!

Walking tiger
Walking tiger

There was a walking tiger and…

Running tiger
Running tiger

…a running tiger, both done in neon tubing. The fact that is was already becoming dark made the figures stand out boldly. In full daylight they wouldn’t be quite so striking. As it was, they made my day!

Black Sheep, Houndsditch
Black Sheep, Houndsditch

We reached Black Sheep Coffee in the poetically named Houndsditch.

Long and narrow
Long and narrow

The seating area is long and narrow but there was a table with two comfy chairs available which I grabbed while Tigger negotiated for coffee.

Black Sheep, like increasingly many coffee bars, has an electronic ordering system. Instead of simply walking up to the counter and politely telling the assistant what you want, you have to enter your order on a touch-screen and pay at the terminal. Then you can go to the counter to collect your order. Efficient, no doubt, but also unfriendly. Very soon, I expect, the human staff will be dispensed with altogether and replaced by machines.

Aboard the 205
Aboard the 205

After our coffee break, we hurried to a nearby bus stop in time to catch a 205 bus.

The bus was crowded and we had to go upstairs. We had front seats, though, and could watch the varied scene as we travelled through the busy City, back to the Angel.

Leave a comment